1. Introduction

1.1. What is Univention Corporate Server?

Univention Corporate Server (UCS) is a Linux-based server operating system for the operation and administration of IT infrastructures for companies and authorities. UCS implements an integrated, holistic concept with consistent, central administration and can ensure the operation of all the components in an interrelated security and trust context, the so-called UCS domain. At the same time, UCS supports a wide range of open standards and includes extensive interfaces to infrastructure components and management tools from other manufacturers, meaning it can be integrated in existing environments.

UCS consists of reliable open source software tried and tested in organizations of different sizes. These software components are integrated together via the UCS Management System. This allows the integration and administration of the system in both simple and complex distributed or virtualized environments.

The central functions of UCS are:

  • Flexible and extensive identity/infrastructure management for the central administration of servers, workstations, users and their permissions, server applications and web services

  • Services for integrating the management of existing Microsoft Active Directory domains or even the provision of such services as an alternative for Microsoft-based server systems

  • App Center for simple installation and management of extensions and applications

  • Comprehensive features for the operation of virtualized systems (e.g. running a Windows or Linux operating systems) in either the cloud of on locally running UCS systems

  • Network and intranet services for administration of DHCP and DNS

  • File and print services

  • Computer administration and monitoring

  • Mail services

These functions are provided by different software packages in Univention Corporate Server and are handled in detail in the course of this handbook. Basically, the software packages contained in UCS can be assigned to the following three main categories:

  1. Base system

  2. UCS management system with Univention Management Console modules

  3. Univention App Center, allowing the installation of further components and applications of other software vendors

The base system encompasses the operating system of the UCS Linux distribution maintained by Univention and based on Debian GNU/Linux. It largely includes the same software selection as Debian GNU/Linux as well as additional tools for the installation, updating and configuration of clients and servers.

The UCS Management System realizes a single point of administration where the accounts of all domain members (users, groups, and hosts) and services such as DNS and DHCP are managed in a single directory service. Core components of the management system are the services OpenLDAP (directory service), Samba (provision of domain, file and print services for Windows), Kerberos (authentication and single sign on), DNS (network name resolution) and SSL/TLS (secure transmission of data between systems). It can be used either via a web interface (Univention Management Console modules) or in the command line and in individual scripts. The UCS management system can be extended with APIs (application programming interfaces) and provides a flexible client-server architecture which allows changes to be transferred to the involved systems and be activated there.

Additional components from Univention and other manufacturers can be installed using the App Center. They expand the system with numerous functions such as groupware, document management and services for Windows, meaning that they can also be run from a UCS system and administrated via the UCS management system.

1.2. Overview of UCS

Linux is an operating system which always had a focus on stability, security and compatibility with other operating systems. Therefore Linux is predestined for being used in server operating systems that are stable, secure and highly available.

Built on that base, UCS is a server operating system which is optimized for the simple and secure operation and management of applications and infrastructure services in enterprises and public authorities. For efficient and secure management such applications rely on the tight integration in the user and permission management of the UCS Management System.

UCS can be employed as the basis for the IT infrastructure in companies and authorities and provide the central control for it. This makes a considerable contribution to secure, efficient and cost-effective IT operation. The business-critical applications are integrated in a uniform concept, adapted to each other and pre-configured for professional utilization. Alternatively it can be operated as part of an existing Microsoft Active Directory domain.

1.2.1. Commissioning

The use of UCS begins either with a classic operating system installation on a physical server or as a virtual machine. Further information can be found in Installation.

1.2.2. Domain concept

In an IT infrastructure managed with UCS, all servers, clients and users are contained in a common security and trust context, referred to as the UCS domain. Every UCS system is assigned a so-called server role during the installation. Possible system roles are Directory Node, Managed Node and client.

UCS domain concept

Fig. 1.1 UCS domain concept

Depending on the system role within the domain, such services as Kerberos, OpenLDAP, Samba, modules for domain replication or a Root CA (certification authority) are installed on the computer. These are automatically configured for the selected system role. The manual implementation and configuration of every single service and application is therefore not required. Due to the modular design and extensive configuration interfaces, tailor-made solutions to individual requirements can nevertheless be realized.

The integration of Samba, which provides the domain service for clients and servers operated with Microsoft Windows, makes Univention Corporate Server compatible with Microsoft Active Directory (AD), whereby the system acts as an Active Directory server for Windows-based systems. Consequently, for example, group policies for Microsoft Windows systems can be administrated in the usual way.

UCS can also be operated as part of an existing Microsoft Active Directory domain. This way, users and groups of the Active Directory domain can access applications from the Univention App Center.

Ubuntu or macOS clients can be integrated in a UCS environment, as well (see Integration of Ubuntu clients).

1.2.3. Expandability with the Univention App Center

The Univention App Center offers additional UCS components and extensions and a broad selection of business IT software, e.g., groupware and collaboration, file exchange, CRM or backup. These applications can be installed in existing environments with a few clicks and are usually ready to use. In most cases they are directly integrated into the UCS Management System such that they are available as Univention Management Console modules. This provides a central management of data on the domain level and obsoletes the separate management of, e.g., user data in multiple places.

1.2.4. LDAP directory service

With the UCS Management System, all the components of the UCS domain can be centrally administrated across computer, operating system and site boundaries. It thus provides a single point of administration for the domain. One primary element of the UCS management system is an LDAP directory in which the data required across the domain for the administration are stored. In addition to the user accounts and similar elements, the data basis of services such as DHCP is also saved there. The central data management in the LDAP directory avoids not only the repeated entry of the same data, but also reduces the probability of errors and inconsistencies.

An LDAP directory has a tree-like structure, the root of which forms the so-called basis of the UCS domain. The UCS domain forms the common security and trust context for its members. An account in the LDAP directory establishes the membership in the UCS domain for users. Computers receive a computer account when they join the domain. Microsoft Windows systems can also join the domain such that users can sign in there with their domain passport.

UCS utilizes OpenLDAP as a directory service server. The directory is provided by the Primary Directory Node and replicated on all UCS Directory Nodes in the domain. The complete LDAP directory is also replicated on a Backup Directory Node as this can replace the Primary Directory Node in an emergency. In contrast, the replication on Replica Directory Node can be restricted to certain areas of the LDAP directory using ACLs (access control lists) in order to realize a selective replication. For example, this may be desirable if data should only be stored on as few servers as possible for security reasons. For secure communication of all systems within the domain, UCS integrates a root CA (certification authority).

Further information can be found in LDAP directory.

1.2.5. Domain administration

|UCSUMC| modules

Fig. 1.2 Univention Management Console modules

Access to the LDAP directory is performed via a web-based user interface through Univention Management Console (UMC) modules. In addition to this, Univention Directory Manager allows the realization of all domain-wide administrative tasks via a command line interface. This is particularly suitable for the integration in scripts or automated administrative steps.

Univention Management Console modules allows to display, edit, delete, and search the data in the LDAP directory via various filter criteria. The web interface offers a range of wizards for the administration of user, groups, networks, computers, directory shares and printers. The administration of computers also comprises comprehensive functions for distributing and updating software. The integrated LDAP directory browser can be used to make further settings and add customer-specific object classes or attributes.

Further information can be found in UCS web interface.

1.2.6. Computer administration

Univention Management Console modules allows not only the access to the LDAP directory, but also the web-based configuration and administration of individual computers. These include the adaptation of configuration data, the installation of software as well as the monitoring and control of services and the operating system itself. With the UCS Management System, domain administration as well as computer and server configuration is possible from any place via a comfortable graphic web interface.

1.2.7. Policy concept

The tree-like structure of LDAP directories is similar to that of a file system It ensures that objects (such as users, computers, etc.) are in one container which itself can be adopted by other containers. The root container is also called the LDAP base object.

Policies describe certain administrative settings which are applied to more than one object. Linked to containers, they facilitate the administration as they are effective for all objects in the container in question as well as the objects in subfolders.

For example, users can be organized in different containers or organizational units (which are a form of containers) depending on which department they belong to. Settings such as the desktop background or accessible programs can then be connected to these organizational units using policies. Subsequently, they apply for all users within the organizational unit in question.

Further information can be found in Policies.

1.2.8. Listener/notifier replication

The listener/notifier mechanism is an important technical component of the UCS Management System. With this, the creation, editing or deleting of entries in the LDAP directory triggers defined actions on the computers in question. For example, the creation of a directory share with the UMC module Shares leads to the share firstly being entered in the LDAP directory. The listener/notifier mechanism then ensures that the NFS and Samba configuration files are also expanded accordingly on the selected server and that the directory is created in the file system of the selected server if it does not already exist.

The listener/notifier mechanism can be expanded with modules for further - also customer-specific - procedures. Consequently, it is used by numerous technology partners for the integration of their products in the LDAP directory service and the UCS Management System for example.

Further information can be found in Listener/notifier domain replication.

1.3. Further documentation

This manual addresses just a small selection of the possibilities in UCS. Among other things, UCS and solutions based on UCS provide:

  • Comprehensive support for complex server environments and replication scenarios

  • Advanced capabilities for Windows environments

  • Central network management with DNS and DHCP

  • Monitoring systems and networks

  • Print server functionalities

  • Proxy server

Further documentation related to UCS and further issues is published under UCS documentation overview [1] and in the Univention Wiki.

1.4. Symbols and conventions used in this manual

The manual uses the following symbols:

Caution

Warnings are highlighted.

Note

Notes are also highlighted.

This table describes the functionality of a UMC module:

Table 1.1 Tab DHCP service

Attribute

Description

Name

The unique name of a DHCP service.

Description

An arbitrary description of the service.

Menu entries, button labels, and similar details with actions are printed in this font face.

Names are highlighted.

Computer names, LDAP DNs, program names, file names, file paths, internet addresses and options are also optically accented.

Commands and other keyboard input is accented optically.

In addition, excerpts from configuration files, screen output, etc. are
printed as code block.

A backslash (\) at the end of a line signifies that the subsequent line feed is not to be understood as an end of line. This circumstance may occur, for example, where commands cannot be represented in one line in the manual, yet have to be entered in the command line in one piece without the backslash or with the backslash and a subsequent Enter.

The path to a function is represented in a similar way to a file path. Users ‣ Add means for example, you have to click Users in the main menu and Add in the submenu.

1. Einführung#

1.1. Was ist Univention Corporate Server?#

Univention Corporate Server (UCS) ist ein Linux-basiertes Serverbetriebssystem für den Betrieb und die Verwaltung von IT-Infrastruktur in Unternehmen und Behörden. UCS setzt ein durchgängiges Gesamtkonzept mit einheitlicher, zentraler Administration um und kann den Betrieb aller Komponenten in einem zusammenhängenden Sicherheits- und Vertrauenskontext, der so genannten UCS-Domäne, gewährleisten. Gleichzeitig unterstützt UCS viele offene Standards und besitzt umfangreiche Schnittstellen zu Infrastrukturkomponenten und Managementwerkzeugen anderer Hersteller, so dass es sich leicht in vorhandene Umgebungen integrieren lässt.

UCS besteht aus zuverlässiger, in Organisationen unterschiedlicher Größe erprobter Open Source Software. Diese Software wird durch das UCS Managementsystem zu einem einheitlichen Gesamtsystem integriert. Damit ist das System nicht nur in einfachen, sondern auch in anspruchsvollen, verteilten oder virtualisierten Umgebungen einfach einsetz- und administrierbar.

Dies sind die zentralen Funktionen von UCS:

  • Flexibles und umfangreiches Identity- und Infrastrukturmanagementsystem zur zentralen Administration von Servern, Computerarbeitsplätzen, Benutzern und deren Berechtigungen sowie verschiedener Serveranwendungen und Webdienste

  • Dienste zur Integration des Managementsystems in vorhandene Microsoft Active Directory Domänen oder auch für die Bereitstellung dieser Dienste als Alternative zu Microsoft-basierten Serversystemen

  • App Center zur einfachen Installation und Verwaltung von Erweiterungen und Anwendungen

  • Umfassende Funktionen für den Betrieb virtualisierter Rechnersysteme (beispielsweise mit Windows- oder Linux-Betriebssystem) in der Cloud oder direkt auf vorhandenen UCS-Systemen

  • Netzwerk- und Intranetdienste zur Verwaltung von DHCP und DNS

  • Datei- und Druckdienste

  • Rechnerverwaltung und Monitoring

  • Maildienste

Diese Funktionen werden von unterschiedlichen Softwarepaketen in Univention Corporate Server bereit gestellt und im Verlauf dieses Handbuchs ausführlich behandelt. Im Wesentlichen lassen sich die in UCS enthaltenen Softwarepakete den folgenden drei Hauptbestandteilen zuordnen:

  1. Basissystem

  2. UCS Managementsystem mit Univention Management Console Modulen

  3. Das App Center, über das sich zahlreiche weitere Komponenten und Anwendungen anderer Hersteller installieren lassen

Das Basissystem umfasst das Betriebssystem der auf der Debian GNU/Linux basierenden und von Univention gepflegten UCS Linux Distribution. Es beinhaltet weitgehend die selbe Software-Auswahl wie Debian GNU/Linux sowie zusätzliche Werkzeuge zur Installation, zur Aktualisierung und zur Konfiguration von Clients und Servern.

Das UCS Managementsystem realisiert einen Single-Point-of-Administration, über den die Konten aller Domänenmitglieder (Benutzer, Gruppen und Rechner) und Dienste wie DNS und DHCP in einem Verzeichnisdienst verwaltet werden. Kernkomponenten des Managementsystems sind die Dienste OpenLDAP (Verzeichnisdienst), Samba (Bereitstellung von Domänen-, Datei- und Druckdiensten für Microsoft Windows), Kerberos (Authentifizierung und Single Sign-On), DNS (Namensauflösung im Netzwerk) und SSL/TLS (sichere Datenübertragung zwischen Systemen). Es lässt sich sowohl webbasiert (Univention Management Console Module) als auch an der Kommandozeile und in eigenen Skripten verwenden. Das UCS Managementsystem ist über APIs (Programmierschnittstellen) erweiterbar und besitzt eine flexible Client-Server-Architektur, durch die Änderungen auf die davon betroffenen Systeme übertragen und dort aktiviert werden.

Zusätzliche Komponenten von Univention und anderen Herstellern lassen sich bequem über das App Center installieren und erweitern das System um zahlreiche Funktionen wie Groupware, Dokumentenmanagement oder Services für Microsoft Windows, so dass sie ebenfalls von einem UCS-System ausgeführt und über das UCS Managementsystem verwaltet werden können.

1.2. Überblick über UCS#

Linux ist ein Betriebssystem, bei dessen Entwicklung stets Wert auf Stabilität, Sicherheit und die Kompatibilität zu anderen Betriebssystemen gelegt wurde. Dadurch ist es prädestiniert für den Einsatz als stabiles, sicheres und jederzeit verfügbares Serverbetriebssystem.

UCS ist ein auf dieser Basis aufbauendes Serverbetriebssystem, das besonders für den einfachen und sicheren Betrieb sowie die Verwaltung von Anwendungen und Infrastrukturdiensten in Unternehmen und Behörden optimiert wurde. Zur effizienten und sicheren Verwaltung brauchen solche Anwendungen die mit dem UCS Managementsystem realisierte enge Integration mit der Benutzer- und Rechteverwaltung.

UCS kann als die Basis für die IT-Infrastruktur von Unternehmen und Behörden eingesetzt werden und dafür die zentrale Steuerung übernehmen. So leistet es einen wichtigen Beitrag für den sicheren, effizienten und wirtschaftlichen IT-Betrieb. Unternehmenskritische Anwendungen sind in ein einheitliches Konzept integriert, aufeinander abgestimmt und für den professionellen Einsatz vorkonfiguriert. Alternativ lässt es sich auch als Bestandteil vorhandener Microsoft-Domänen betreiben.

1.2.1. Inbetriebnahme#

Der Einsatz von UCS beginnt entweder mit einer klassischen Betriebssysteminstallation auf einem physikalischen Server oder als virtuelle Instanz. Weiterführende Informationen finden sich in Installation.

1.2.2. Domänenkonzept#

In einer mit UCS verwalteten IT-Infrastruktur können sich alle Server, Clients und Benutzer in einem einheitlichen Sicherheits- und Vertrauenskontext, der UCS-Domäne, befinden. Jedem UCS-System wird dazu bei seiner Installation eine so genannte Systemrolle zugewiesen. Mögliche Systemrollen sind Directory Node, Managed Node und Client.

UCS Domänenkonzept

Abb. 1.1 UCS Domänenkonzept#

Abhängig von der Systemrolle werden neben dem Betriebssystem grundlegende Dienste wie Kerberos, OpenLDAP, Samba, Module für den Domänenreplikationsmechanismus oder eine Root-CA (Zertifizierungsstelle) auf dem Rechner installiert und automatisch für die gewählte Systemrolle konfiguriert. Eine manuelle Einrichtung jedes einzelnen Dienstes oder Anwendung ist deswegen normalerweise nicht notwendig. Durch den modularen Aufbau und umfangreiche Konfigurationsschnittstellen lassen sich dennoch auf individuelle Bedürfnisse zugeschnittene Lösungen umsetzen.

Durch die Integration von Samba, das den Domänendienst für mit Microsoft Windows betriebene Clients und Server bereit stellt, ist Univention Corporate Server kompatibel zu Microsoft Active Directory (AD), so dass sich das System gegenüber Windows-basierten Systemen wie ein Active Directory Server verhält. Deswegen können beispielsweise Gruppenrichtlinien für Microsoft Windows-Systeme auf die gewohnte Art und Weise verwaltet werden.

Zusätzlich kann UCS auch als Teil einer vorhanden Microsoft Active Directory Domäne betrieben werden. Benutzer und Gruppen aus der Active Directory Domäne können dadurch auf Applikationen des Univention App Centers zugreifen.

Ubuntu- oder macOS-Clients können ebenfalls in eine UCS-Umgebung integriert werden (siehe Integration von Ubuntu-Clients).

1.2.3. Erweiterbarkeit durch das Univention App Center#

Das Univention App Center bietet weitere UCS-Komponenten und Erweiterungen sowie eine umfangreiche Auswahl von Softwarelösungen für Business IT-Bereiche wie Groupware, Datenaustausch, CRM oder Backup. Die Anwendungen lassen sich mit wenigen Klicks in bestehende Umgebungen installieren und sind in der Regel einsatzbereit vorkonfiguriert. Sie werden in vielen Fällen direkt in das UCS Managementsystem integriert und stehen anschließend als UMC-Module zur Verfügung. Damit ist eine zentrale Verwaltung von Daten auf Domänenebene gegeben und eine separate Verwaltung, z.B. von Nutzerdaten für unterschiedliche Dienste an unterschiedlichen Orten, entfällt. ggf. CSS-Datei bspw. etc.

1.2.4. LDAP-Verzeichnisdienst#

Mit dem UCS Managementsystem können alle Bestandteile der UCS-Domäne über Rechner-, Betriebssystem- und Standortgrenzen hinweg zentral verwaltet werden. Es steht somit ein echter Single-Point-of-Administration für die Domäne zur Verfügung. Ein tragendes Element des UCS Managementsystems ist ein LDAP-Verzeichnis, in dem die domänenweit benötigten, verwaltungsrelevanten Daten vorgehalten werden. Dort wird neben Benutzerkonten und ähnlichem auch die Datenbasis von Diensten wie DHCP gespeichert. Die zentrale Datenhaltung im LDAP-Verzeichnis erspart nicht nur die wiederholte Eingabe derselben Daten, sondern verringert auch die Wahrscheinlichkeit von Fehlern und Inkonsistenzen.

Ein LDAP-Verzeichnis besitzt eine baumartige Struktur, deren Wurzel die so genannte Basis der UCS-Domäne bildet. Die UCS-Domäne realisiert den gemeinsamen Sicherheits- und Vertrauenskontext für ihre Mitglieder. Bei Benutzern begründet ein Konto im LDAP-Verzeichnis die Mitgliedschaft in der UCS-Domäne. Rechner erhalten bei Beitritt in die Domäne ein Rechnerkonto. Auch Microsoft Windows-Systeme können in die Domäne aufgenommen werden, so dass sich Benutzer dort mit ihrem Domänenpasswort anmelden können.

UCS setzt als Verzeichnisdienstserver OpenLDAP ein. Das Verzeichnis wird vom Primary Directory Node bereitgestellt und auf alle anderen UCS Directory Nodes in der Domäne repliziert. Weil ein Backup Directory Node im Notfall den Primary Directory Node ersetzen können soll, wird auf diesen immer das komplette LDAP-Verzeichnis repliziert. Die Replikation auf Replica Directory Nodes kann dagegen mithilfe von ACLs (Access Control Lists) auf beliebige Bereiche des LDAP-Verzeichnisses beschränkt werden, um eine selektive Replikation zu ermöglichen. Dies kann z.B. dann gewünscht sein, wenn Daten aus Sicherheitsgründen auf möglichst wenigen Servern gespeichert werden sollen. Zur sicheren Kommunikation der Systeme innerhalb der Domäne ist in UCS eine Root-CA (Zertifizierungsstelle) integriert.

Weiterführende Informationen finden sich in LDAP-Verzeichnisdienst.

1.2.5. Domänenadministration#

|UCSUMC| Module

Abb. 1.2 Univention Management Console Module#

Der Zugang zum LDAP-Verzeichnis erfolgt über eine webbasierte Benutzerschnittstelle durch Univention Management Console (UMC) Module. Daneben ermöglicht Univention Directory Manager auch die Umsetzung aller domänenweiten administrativen Aufgaben über eine Kommandozeilen-Schnittstelle. Dies eignet sich besonders für die Integration in Skripte oder automatisierte administrative Schritte.

UMC-Module erlauben das Suchen, Anzeigen, Bearbeiten und Löschen von Daten im LDAP-Verzeichnis anhand unterschiedlicher Filter-Kriterien. Die Web-Oberfläche stellt Assistenten bereit u.a. zur Verwaltung von Benutzern, Gruppen, Netzwerken, Rechnern, Verzeichnisfreigaben und Druckern. Die Rechnerverwaltung umfasst auch umfangreiche Funktionen zur Verteilung und Aktualisierung von Software. Über den integrierten LDAP-Verzeichnis-Browser können weitergehende Einstellungen vorgenommen sowie kundenspezifische Objektklassen und Attribute hinzugefügt werden.

Weiterführende Informationen finden sich in UCS Web-Oberfläche.

1.2.6. Rechneradministration#

UMC-Module ermöglichen nicht nur den Zugriff auf das LDAP-Verzeichnis, sondern auch die webbasierte Konfiguration und Administration einzelner Rechner. Dazu gehören die Anpassung von Konfigurationsdaten, die Installation von Software sowie die Überwachung und Steuerung von Diensten und dem Betriebssystem an sich. Mit dem UCS Managementsystem ist die Domänenverwaltung sowie die Rechner- und Serverkonfiguration von jedem beliebigen Ort aus über eine komfortable, graphische Web-Oberfläche möglich.

1.2.7. Richtlinienkonzept#

Die baumartige Struktur von LDAP-Verzeichnissen ist ähnlich der eines Dateisystems. Sie stellt sicher, dass Objekte (wie z.B. Benutzer, Rechner) sich in einem Container befinden, der wieder in anderen Containern enthalten sein kann. Der Wurzelcontainer wird auch als LDAP-Basis-Objekt bezeichnet.

Richtlinien beschreiben bestimmte administrative Einstellungen, die auf mehr als ein Objekt angewendet werden können. Sie erleichtern die Administration, weil sie an Container gebunden werden können und dann für alle in dem betreffenden Container befindlichen Objekte, sowie die in Unterordnern befindlichen Objekte gelten.

Beispielsweise können Benutzer nach Abteilungszugehörigkeit in unterschiedliche Container oder Organisationseinheiten (die eine besondere Form von Containern darstellen) organisiert werden. Einstellungen wie Bildschirmhintergrund oder aufrufbare Programme können dann mit Hilfe von Richtlinien an diese Organisationseinheiten gebunden werden und gelten für alle unterhalb der betreffenden Organisationseinheit befindlichen Benutzer.

Weiterführende Informationen finden sich in Richtlinien.

1.2.8. Listener/Notifier-Replikation#

Ein wichtiger technischer Bestandteil des UCS Managementsystems stellt der so genannte Listener/Notifier-Mechanismus dar. Mit ihm lösen das Anlegen, Verändern oder Löschen von Einträgen im LDAP-Verzeichnis definierte Aktionen auf betroffenen Rechnern aus. So führt zum Beispiel das Anlegen einer Verzeichnisfreigabe mit dem UMC-Modul Freigaben dazu, das die Freigabe zunächst in das LDAP-Verzeichnis eingetragen wird. Der Listener/Notifier-Mechanismus stellt dann sicher, dass die Konfigurationsdateien auf dem gewählten Server entsprechend erweitert werden und das Verzeichnis im Dateisystem des gewählten Servers erstellt wird, falls es noch nicht existiert.

Der Listener/Notifier-Mechanismus kann leicht um Module für weitere – auch kundenspezifische – Vorgänge ergänzt werden und wird zum Beispiel von zahlreichen Technologiepartnern für die Integration ihrer Produkte in den LDAP-Verzeichnisdienst und das UCS Managementsystem verwendet.

Weiterführende Informationen finden sich in Listener/Notifier-Domänenreplikation.

1.3. Weitere Dokumentationen#

Dieses Handbuch behandelt nur einen kleinen Ausschnitt der Möglichkeiten von UCS. UCS und auf UCS aufbauende Lösungen bieten unter anderem:

  • Umfangreiche Unterstützung für komplexe Serverumgebungen und Replikationsszenarien

  • Weitergehende Einsatzmöglichkeiten für Microsoft Windows-Umgebungen

  • Zentrales Netzmanagement mit DNS und DHCP

  • System- und Netzüberwachung

  • Druckserver-Funktionalität

  • Proxy-Server

Unter UCS documentation overview [1] und im Univention Wiki sind weitere Dokumentationen zu UCS veröffentlicht, die weiterführende Themen behandeln.

1.4. Verwendete Symbole und Konventionen#

Im Handbuch werden folgende Symbole verwendet:

Vorsicht

Warnungen werden hervorgehoben.

Bemerkung

Hinweise werden ebenfalls hervorgehoben.

Diese Felder beschreiben den Funktionsumfang eines UMC-Moduls:

Tab. 1.1 Reiter DHCP-Dienst#

Attribut

Beschreibung

Name

Ein eindeutiger Name für den DHCP-Dienst.

Beschreibung

Eine beliebige Beschreibung des Dienstes.

Menüeinträge, Schaltflächenbeschriftungen und ähnliches sind in dieser Schriftform gesetzt.

Eigennamen sind hervorgehoben.

Computernamen, LDAP-DNs, Programmnamen, Dateinamen und -pfade, Internetadressen und Optionen werden ebenfalls optisch hervorgehoben.

Befehle und Tastatureingaben werden optisch hervorgehoben.

Abschnitte aus Konfigurationsdateien, Bildschirmausgaben usw. werden als
Codeblock formatiert.

Ein Backslash (\) am Ende einer Zeile weist darauf hin, dass der folgende Zeilenumbruch nicht die Bedeutung eines End-of-Line hat. Das kommt z.B. bei Befehlen vor, die nicht in einer Zeile des Handbuches dargestellt werden können, an der Kommandozeile aber entweder ohne den Backslash in einem Stück oder mit dem Backslash und einem anschließenden Enter eingegeben werden müssen.

Der Weg zu einer Funktion wird ähnlich wie ein Dateipfad dargestellt. Benutzer ‣ Hinzufügen bedeutet beispielsweise, dass im Hauptmenü auf Benutzer und im erscheinenden Untermenü auf Hinzufügen zu klicken ist.